Aaman is Shore Coaches 2012 Player of the Year

first_imgRaritan High School forward Michael Aaman and Colts Neck High School head coach Lou Piccola were honored by the Shore Basketball Coaches Association. Aaman, to no one’s surprise, was the Player of the Year in the Shore Conference while Piccola was chosen by his peers as the Coach of the Year.Aaman averaged a double-double this winter as he led the Rockets to a second straight division crown despite the loss of four starters from the 2010-11 season. Aaman is the school’s alltime leading scorer (1,330) among boys and also pulled down more than 1,000 rebounds. Piccola’s Cougars enjoyed their finest season with a single-season record 23 wins (23-4). The Cougars shared the B North title with Neptune after the two teams split their regular-season games. Colts Neck made the SCT final for the first time (losing to Neptune) and was beaten by Middletown North in the NJSIAA Central Jersey Group IV championship game.The Cougars achieved this despite having the roster depleted by injuries.Colts Neck’s Hunter Wysocki, Middletown North’s Jason Huelbig, Neptune’s Ike Calderon and St. Rose’s Mark Kukoda are the All-Shore First Team.Manalapan’s Anthony Firkser heads the Second Team with Point Pleasant Boro’s Shaun Cooke, Manasquan’s Jimmy Walsh, Neptune’s Jaheem Woods and Jackson Memorial’s Brandon McDonnell.Aaman, headed to Wagner College, averaged 21.9 points and 16.3 points a game for the Rockets this year as they went 17-8 and defended their A Central Division crown.Wysocki was the go-to player for Colts Neck, averaging 17 points a game and graduating as the program’s all-time leading scorer.Huelbig led the Lions to the CJ IV title and a 25-win season while Calderon’s Scarlet Fliers won the SCT and Central Jersey Group III titles. Kukoda averaged 19 points and seven assists a game for the Purple Roses.As for the All-Division teams, Huelbig and Firkser head the All-North First Team with Freehold Township’s Casey Skieveski, Middletown North’s Eric Youncofski and Tim Frawley, and Christian Brothers Academy’s Kieran Hughes. Freehold Township’s John Horrigan, Manalapan’s Bryan Adams, CBA’s Jim Dengler and Middletown South’s James Dzugan are the Second Team picks. Freehold Township’s Brian Golub, whose team won the division title, was the A North Coach of the Year. Aaman heads the A Central First Team with Rumson-Fair Haven’s Jack Donnelly, Matawan’s Larry Smith, St. John Vianney’s Arick Sodini and Holmdel’s Christian Vikse. Second Team selections were: Holmdel’s Kyle Nodes, Red Bank Regional’s Seph Williams and Asim Jules, RFH’s J.J. Conklin and Shore Regional’s R.J. Bohnert. Holmdel’s Sean Devaney was the Coach of the Year. In B North, Wysocki was joined by teammates Sean O’Reilly and Brandon Federici on the First Team along with Calderon and Woods and Monmouth Regional’s Terrel Cox.Second-Teamers were Freehold’s Pat Mullin, Ocean Township’s Nick Gallombardo and Dan McGuckin, Neptune’s Fuguan MacDonald and Keith Kirkwood, and Long Branch’s Dwight Clarke.Long Branch’s Don Covin was the Coach of the Year.Keyport’s Alex Thompson was a First Teampick in B Central, and Mater Dei Prep’s Ryan Yetman made the Second Team. Colts Neck’s Piccola COY last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *